New Year’s Resolutions – motivation v. perspiration

It’s almost the end of March and in reviewing my post from January 12 Commitments for a New Year I realize that sticking with my New Year’s resolution is less about staying motivated, because let’s face it – that can be fleeting depending on the week, and really more about perspiration and sticking to a plan to make that goal a reality.

By breaking up my resolution into smaller monthly goals I have been able to stick with them in a way that I hadn’t been able to do previously.  Could I be onto something?  Now, let’s be honest I haven’t always been motivated as I was that first week but by reminding myself of my goals and using some of the strategies to stay motivated, I have managed to stay on track with these goals. 

When I do experience a sets back, I try to keep in mind  Don Shula’s 24-hour ruleDon Shula believed that you should celebrate success or wallow in defeat but only do it for 24 hours.  Feel the emotions to their fullest but once your 24 hours have passed move on.  Success is not forever and failure is hardly  fatal.  He was so right!  Many of us get hung up in the failure that it keeps us from moving forward.  Remember each day is a new opportunity to begin again. 

How do you stick with your resolution or goal?

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Resolutions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s Resolutions – motivation v. perspiration

  1. Natalie says:

    I find your commitment to be inspiring and, frankly, part of how I stick with my goals is to surround myself with people who are doing the same for themselves. I also try to celebrate my progress and in that way the momentum keeps be going. If I feel like I’m still moving forward, I keep going. The hard part is when you feel a lapse in progress or you hit a road block, but I just have to remind myself of how far I’ve come on that goal and how important it felt to me when I started the journey.

Leave a Reply

