Life Lessons Learned from a 3rd Grader

The moral of the story is NEVER GIVE UP

Some of you have heard me talk about my son’s basketball season this year and their 0-10-1 record.  As the regular season comes to a close,  I had to give you one last update!  Despite the Raptor’s record, the last 8 games were lost by 1 or 2 points and have been more exciting than some of the NBA games I have had the pleasure of attending.

The final regular season game was against the Magic, a team they lost to by 1 point just two weeks ago.  And let me just say……….sweet victory was had at last with a commanding performance 22-11 by the Raptors.  It was an amazing moment for all of the boys.  According to my husband and coach, every player contributed – offensively or defensively.  They played as a team and won as a team.  As fate would have it, it was the only game this season I didn’t make – murphy’s law! 

In an era where kids “win” or “tie” a lot, this season has been full of important life lessons for these third graders.  They have had to face defeat time and again and still find the motivation and excitement to come out and keep fighting; they have had to learn how to manage their emotions/frustrations and disappointments when the game didn’t go their way or they made a mistake; they had had to redefine success for themselves and as a team and realize why they play the game.  And the reason they play the game and continue to fight is because that they LOVE IT.  They have passion for the sport that supersedes what the score board says and they cannot wait to play.  So despite their record, each practice and game they come out fighting and ready to win. 

Hearing my son retell each moment last night with the greatest enthusiasm and passion made me feel like I was there.  It was better than an NBA game.  I had the nervous fluttering feeling when he described each high and low moment of great defense or missed shot.  But in the end, he finally experienced the sweet satisfaction of victory and that may just be enough to swing the tide of the team as they head into post-season play.   It has been a great season full of amazing life lessons and I for one take away a deep admiration for these third graders who to continue to play their hearts out, show up and play every game with the determination and will never to give up until the final buzzer rings.  We should all live this way!

Show up.  Never give up.  Follow your passion and success will follow.

Share

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Education, Kid advice, Parenting Advice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Lessons Learned from a 3rd Grader

  1. Sam – love this post. And, you are right, a valuable life lesson for these little men. What spirit – even in the face of defeat to forge ahead and play for the enjoyment of it. Refreshing to read a story like this.

Leave a Reply

