Goal #2: Complete the Social Networking Coaching Club 30-day challenge

I am a competitve person by nature (division III two sport athlete). So when my social media coach (yeah, I’ve got one of those) put a challenge in front of me I bit. Part of my business goal setting program for January was to complete a 30-day boot camp class.  Some of you have heard me talking about my fitness boot camp class through the YMCA but this was different. 

Instead of exercising my muscles, I was exercising my brain and adapting to a new technology skill set.  The Social Networking Coaching Club is an online social media class hosted by Ann Evanston.  I first met Ann last spring when she was a guest speaker at our national conference.  She stole the show!  Her messaging was relevant, timely and on target for the social media explosion happening around us.  I left there wanting to learn more!

As someone who has been a late adaptor to the social media world and a skeptic who felt twitter, facebook, LinkedIn and blogging were a huge time suck with unknown return, Ann was able to speak to how these social media sites are the latest tools to help people connect with each other across the country and world.  The more you connect, the more opportunities you have for creating value and generating a return.  She reminded me that many of the same skills you use in networking in person are those used online – your reach with social media is just that much farther! 

As someone who works with people all over the world, learning how to responsibly use these sites for personal and business use was extremely compelling but also a bit daunting.  But nothing ventured, nothing gained so I jumped in feet first.  The boot camp condensed 10 weeks of work into four.  I was up at 5am to learn about blogging and vlogging, building up a presence on all of the big social media sites and putting together a personal brand.  It was a cross between self-analysis and entrepreneurship where we examined limiting beliefs and replaced them with abundant ones. There were times when I thought I wouldn’t be able to complete the challenge and my new year’s resolution would start and end in January but I’m pleased to say that I officially completed it and am presently taking all of what I learned and putting them into practice.

It has been a pleasure to connect with more people than ever before.  I am able to share photos and video with friends and family living all over the world to stay in better touch.  I have also learned how to share my expertise in the cultural exchange and childcare industry and as a business professional with fifteen years of general management knowledge to benefit others. 

Just yesterday, I had someone contact me out of the blue because she had been given my name through a mutual acquaintance.  We had never met but through networking, social media efforts and blogging, she learned about my background and reached out to me to see if I could help her Danish colleague’s daughter who wants to spend a year in the USA.  It was a great opportunity to connect with someone, share knowledge about the au pair program and other J1 visa opportunities and offer to help. 

Creating raving fans through education and generating PR and referrals is the ultimate business goal and what SNCC teaches its members.  If you or your business could benefit from learning more about this, you might want to consider the  www.socialnetworkingcoachingclub.com.   I know I have personally and professionally benefited.  My Klout score has increased and I am working towards becoming an online influencer.

So here’s to new years resolutions and sticking with them!  How are you sticking with your new resolution?

 Share

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Education, Resolutions, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

