12 Commitments for a New Year

It’s New Year’s Day when everyone makes their annual resolution and like many I am thinking about what goals I would like to achieve in 2011. I am writing them here in hope that commiting them to virtual paper will bring me one step closer to achieving them.  My goal is to be healthier and happier in 2011 and to do this I plan to spend more quality time with family and friends, share more, feel more abundance, slow down, step outside my comfort zone, eat better, and keep exercising.  Here’s to it!

January – Complete the 30 Day Challenge on the Social Networking Coaching Club with Ann Evanston, welcome our new puppy, Lucy and see the world in a whole new way with contact lenses.

Our new puppy Lucy taken in 2010

February – Be fully in the moment to enjoy and embrace family time during school vacation week.  Celebrate my au pair’s birthday.

March – Celebrate my son’s birthday. Support a great cause and join in the fun with the Vermont Adaptive Ski Challenge.

April -Visit the 2nd largest state in the United States, Texas, for the first time with my company, Cultural Care Au Pair.  Celebrate my daughter’s birthday.

May – Commit to writing 1 personal letter each week to a friend or family member and reconnect with them the old fashioned way!

June – Run the 20th Anniversary Covered Bridges Half Marathon with my husband and friends. Turn 40!

July – Sail to the Islands of Massachusetts for a vacation on the high seas with my family. Enjoy the ocean breeze and living a simple life for a week.  Welcome our 10th au pair.

August – Read two classics and write a blog review!

September – Run a fun run race with the whole family.  Celebrate my husband’s birthday!  Pick one cultural and educational activity for the whole family.

October – Continue my healthy living commitment – exercise 4 days per week and eat (1) additional fruit and vegetable per day. 

November – Be thankful for all that we have and give back to others. Identify a local food pantry where my family can contribute our time and resources to helping over the holidays.

December – Write a family newsletter chronicling the year in review. Reflect back on all that was experienced and accomplished. Rest up for another great year ahead!

Put your goals to paper this year too and let me know what you hope to accomplish in 2011.

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Cultural Exchange Experiences, Education, Health and Wellness, Reading, Resolutions, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 12 Commitments for a New Year

  1. Michael G. says:

    A goal for every month! What a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

    • Michael-thanks for checking out my blog. A New Year brings new inspiration, right? I like the idea of setting goals and then putting them on paper. It helps me to stay on track to accomplishing them! Good luck with your New Year’s goals.

  2. sue says:

    Sam,
    This is a great idea–thanks for sharing. Wishing you, TY and your kids a year of wonderful abundance (and I mean love, health etc)!
    Cheers,

    Sue

    • Right back atcha! I am keeping my fingers crossed for good news on the adoption front for you and am now a follower of your blog journey. Keep the spirits high and hang in there!

  3. Fiona Stolze says:

    I love this approach you’ve taken for the whole year. And I really wish you every success in reaching every single one of them. They sound like fun and enjoyment. Have a great year no matter what. xx

    Fiona Stolze
    http://fionastolze.wordpress.com

    • Thanks Fiona! I’m looking forward to the year ahead and thought why not commit these things to virtual paper for once. When you start sharing your goals and dreams with others they have a way of coming to fruition, don’t they? It’s a pleasure meeting you and I look forward to enjoying the SNCC journey with you.

  4. mandy says:

    Love it Sam and I want to hear about your puppy adventure and check out that covered bridge race, I would like to add run a marathon in Disney to your list!

    • Great suggestion Mandy! Good luck this weekend on your Disney adventure with the whole family. You all will be terrific. You can count on me for some support too!

      Samantha Janney | Vice President US Operations Cultural Care Au Pair | One Education Street | Cambridge, MA 02141 (ph) 800.333.6056, 1035 | (f) 617.619.1101

      Connect with Cultural Care Au Pair on: Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS Free Community Over 20 years of flexible, affordable childcare: http://www.culturalcare.com

  5. Great idea Sam! Why didn’t you put anything about traveling Internationally in November (and include the location:))?
    I think I will have to copy your idea. I love monthly goals.

  6. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions – motivation v. perspiration |

Leave a Reply

