5 Lessons Learned From Running the Diva!

It’s been 3 weeks since I ran the Diva 1/2 marathon in Uniondale, NY and I am here to report it was Divalicious!  I am not sure if that is even a word but it was truly fabulous. This is where I thank everyone who helped me achieve my dream – “thank you family, friends and colleagues who encouraged me to stick with my “crazy” goal” – and officially put everyone on notice that I have set a new goal….the Boston Marathon April 2011!

Say what, you say?  Yes, it is true.  I said it.  My husband called my bluff of completing a full marathon by the time I turn 40 (ahem, next June) and in a romantic turn of events said he would run Boston with me every step of the way.  Gulp.  Slight panic. Ok – small smile, I think I can, I think I can.  Remember what I learned in my journey to the Diva.

  1. Do something physical! Every person should do something big and physical with a lot of other likeminded people of all shapes, sizes, interests and backgrounds.  Running the Diva 1/2 with 2800 women was AMAZING.  To share words of encouragement, laughs, and stories of personal journeys and triumphs with total strangers was empowering for everyone.
  2. Set a goal and don’t give up until you accomplish it! You can accomplish anything by having the discipline and tenacity to see it through to the end.  Take a big hairy goal and break it down into smaller bite sized goals.
  3. Just keep showing up! Woody Allen says 80% of success is just showing up so I keep showing up to boot camp class and training sessions!
  4. Create a community. Surround yourself with a community of people who will encourage you to keep going when you might otherwise have been inclined to give up.
  5. Believe in possibilities! Recognizing your own potential is about realizing the possibilities that lie within and unleashing them.

At this point it is too early to say I am looking forward to it.  That would be a big lie.  But I know I can do it with the right training, encouragement and determination.  And because how cool would it be to cross the finish line with my fantastic hubby.  Wish me luck!

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Lessons Learned From Running the Diva!

  1. Lisa says:

    That sounds awesome Sam! I believe in you and I think it’s great, funny and romantic that Ty is “pushing” you to do this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

