Diva 1/2 Marathon Here We Come!

So I have been holding my breath for about three weeks in anticipation of today.  It’s 6:30am and when I had all intentions of sleeping in late, here I am tired and a bit groggy but too anxious excited to sleep.  You ask why?

We leave this morning to travel to Long Island, New York to participate in my first half marathon.  The Diva 1/2 Marathon will bring women (and a few brave men) from around the country together to run 13.1 miles through Eisenhower Park.  I chose this 1/2 marathon mainly because it is flat but also because I loved the idea of running a race with the comradery of (mostly) women who are all on a journey of some sort, much like myself.  And when you finish you receive a big honkin’ medal and tiara from a NYC fire fighter.  What a hoot!  It is so over the top and designed to make you feel like a princess that it seemed perfect.

If only my college field hockey coach could see my now she would think the world had ended.  Mental toughness was not my forte when it came to long runs.  And when I say long, anything over 1 mile qualified. I often finished timed runs at the same time as the goalies who don’t spend entire games running up and down a field.  Charlene, the assistant coach was sure I would be cut from the team because I was so slow!

So while I’m not really here to prove anything to anyone (but myself), what this journey has taught me is that anything is possible.  My DH is coming too to be my one man cheering squad – and I know seeing his face in the crowd when I might be feeling tired and sore will be just what I need to keep going.

A big thank you to my support team – “SUPER FUN GRANDPARENTS” who will take care of my dear children with the help of my wonderful au pair, and all of my family, friends and colleagues cheering me on through FB, emails of encouragement, and calls.

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diva 1/2 Marathon Here We Come!

  1. emily says:

    WOW – What a big day! Congrats Sam, and good luck on this huge milestone! We’re rooting for you and I can’t wait to see the pics of you in the tiara!! Big hug! Love, Em

Leave a Reply

