5 weeks and counting…Diva 1/2 Marathon Update

“Now if you are going to win any battle you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired in the morning, noon, and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired.” George S. Patton, U.S. Army General, 1912 Olympian

Five weeks and counting until the Diva 1/2 Marathon in Long Island, NY!  I am nervous and excited at the same time.  It’s hard to believe that in March I couldn’t run further than 3 miles.  Going from couch potato to a marathon runner in 6-months seemed a distant pipe dream but thanks to amazing online resources, inspiration from friends and colleagues and personal determination the final stretch of training is here. 

Marathonrookie.com offered some fantastic tips on what to eat, how to train, proper hydration and most importantly the right gear – sneakers, running shorts and shirts, water belts etc.

This weekend I will run 11 miles.  Next weekend 12 and then it will be time to taper off.  I can hardly believe it.  What I have learned through this experience is that marathon training has been part of a larger life journey on my way to turn 40.  Pushing myself beyond what I thought possible has been a great lesson – anything is possible when you put your mind to it.  If you can run 3 miles, you can run 6.  If you can do 6, you can do 9.  You get the picture. 

As I prepare for the runs ahead, I seek inspiration everywhere I look.  I found this quote and love it.  Harvey Mackay is also someone who I find inspirational – both professionally and personally now that I have learned he is a nine time marathon runner.  This week’s column resonated even more because he makes the connection between running a marathon and working in business. I hope you find inspiration in it too: How to succeed in the marathon of life?  

Where do you turn for inspiration in reaching a goal?  How do you hold yourself accountable?

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

