Swedish Deliciousness – potato salad without the fuss and mess of mayonnaise!

Got to love a Swedish Chef!

In the summer there is nothing more American than potato salad.  It’s a regular staple at all BBQs and is loved by all, except those who hate mayonnaise.  My brother-in-law is in this category.  If you tell him something has mayonnaise in it he won’t touch it.  While I am not a lover really or a hater for that matter, I steer away from this summer salad on hot days for fear of it going bad in the heat.

So imagine my delight when Maria, my Swedish au pair in 2005, introduced me to her potato salad recipe.  All the deliciousness without the mess – perfection!  I fully admit that I have adopted this as my favorite potato salad and consider it a cultural benefit of hosting an au pair. 

Many of my friends have asked for the recipe, so here it is for everyone.  While I am no culinary master in the kitchen, what I love about this recipe is the lack of measurements.  Put in as much or as little of any of the ingredients.  Taste it and see if it needs more of anything.  Voila.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

4-5 potatoes

2 garlic cloves chopped up

Salt

Pepper

½ bunch of leafy parsley chopped/diced up

1 package of baby tomatoes cut into halves

1 cup of white vinegar

¼ cup of olive oil

Note: these are estimations based on making a small-medium bowl of potato salad.

Mix vinegar, parsley, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper and baby tomatoes.  Bring water to a boil.  While water is boiling cut up potatoes into bite sized wedges and place into water to cook.  Potatoes are done when you can easily stick a fork in them.  Once potatoes are fully cooked, drain the water and mix them into the bowl of other ingredients.  Season further to taste!

I hope you enjoy the Swedish deliciousness!  Let me know what you think or feel free to share one of your favorite recipes.

Share

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Cultural Exchange Experiences, Health and Wellness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swedish Deliciousness – potato salad without the fuss and mess of mayonnaise!

  1. Maria says:

    I love that you put it up here! I take it as a huge compliment that you loved it so much! I had it at my moms house this weekend at a bbq. It´s always as good as I remembered it to be!

    Miss you guys!

    I´ll send you some other swedish treats soon! (no, it´s not me in an envelope)

    XOXO

Leave a Reply

