I Survived! A Chronicle of My ½ Marathon Training Program

I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor is my new theme song.  And not because I have been jilted by my lover, but because I am training for a marathon and just hoping to survive it all! 

I “officially” began my formal training program last Saturday for the Diva ½ Marathon in Long Island, NY October 3rd.  It is 10 weeks and counting until the big day.  Before three months ago the furthest I had ever run was 3 miles (while I was in college) so the idea of running 8.5 miles was a tad incredibly daunting.  Do I dare mention that it has been a few many years since college?

But successful running is ½ mental and ½ physical.  So I am tackling both.   I have slowly started tackling my fear of running and begun building up my strength and endurance.  I am throwing out my “stinkin’ thinkin’” and replacing it with positive affirmations.

In June I ran 6.5 miles and now I can happily report I survived 8.5!!!

I want to scream it out loud and tell everyone I know because I am in a state of disbelief but that would be too embarrassing.  My dear husband is very supportive but quite frankly doesn’t understand the need for grandstanding.  He’s a New Englander through and through.  But for me it’s so unbelievable that I must document that it happened and quietly but happily blog about it.  So for my humble followers aka friends and family I hereby apologize and thank you in advance for your indulgence.  I DID IT!!! I DID IT!!! I DID IT!!!

There was one tough moment when I asked my running partner exactly where we were running to only to realize we were running from one town to another.  Gulp.  Really?  She told me later it was probably better that I didn’t realize exactly where I was going from the get go because that might have been too tough to handle.

Doesn’t God work in mysterious ways?  So I’m not religious at all but she might be onto something.  I felt great through the ½ way mark (4.3 miles) but then wanted to die a little for the next two before the thrill of accomplishment carried me the final 2.2 miles.  It was a glorious feeling – just completing something that at one time seemed so far out of reach is a natural high worth experiencing.

This Saturday I face my second 8.5 run and I’m up for the challenge.  The goal is to complete it.  My running partner, mentor, coach and YMCA Boot Camp instructor Beth Schultz was a true inspiration – she pushed me when I told her I wanted to walk (kind of the whole time) and we had a wonderful time. 

Ok – wonderful is a bit much but I did Survive!

Share

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Survived! A Chronicle of My ½ Marathon Training Program

  1. You are totally my hero! It is amazing how true Mind over Matter…er, Body is. I can’t wait to see the pictures of the CCAP Divas crossing the finish line in October

  2. Lisa says:

    Great job Sam!!!

  3. mandy says:

    Sam,
    I knew you could do it all along! I believe it is 90% mental and 10% physical. Keep going and keep up the great work!

  4. Nat says:

    I am so proud of you, you are my new hero!

  5. Congratulations! I’m finally getting my exercise act together after 5+ years of lazy “But, I’m so busy being a Mom” behavior.

    Nice job.

Leave a Reply

