A book that moves me….is a book worth sharing!

So, I’m paying it forward!  Go out and get Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  If you haven’t read it – it’s a must!  When I started it, I couldn’t put it down.  My husband would periodically check-in to make sure I was still alive.  Because when I find a book that I love, I fall into it and cannot come up for air until the last page is read.  And you know a book is good, when you read it and a year goes by and you still LOVE it, remember it and talk about it.

My new au pair Romina will be the latest recipient to receive the book.  I just picked her up a copy today and I look forward to seeing if she will find it enticing, eclectic or over her head.  One of the many benefits of having an au pair share our home is the opportunity to talk about life, life’s lessons and gain perspective – both hers and mine.  I consider it preparation for the teenage years ahead!

The movie with Julia Roberts comes out August 13th and I will be 1st in line with the other groopies.  And, with any luck I will be sharing this cultural experience with my friends from around the world who pushed me to read on and my au pair Romina!  If you can’t get enough of the book, listen to an excerpt of an interview with Elizabeth: click here.

What books have you recently read that moved you?  Pay it forward – do share!

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

