Saying goodbye is never easy!

I’m not good with saying goodbye.  Quite frankly, I hate change.  So saying goodbye to someone you have come to love and think of as your own daughter is no easy task for me.  But here we are in our final week of hosting our dear au pair from Germany and its time to prepare myself and the kids for the eventuality of her departure. Fortunately, for us she will leave for a few weeks to travel and then will come back for a few more days before she returns home for good.

So here are a few things we like to do to ease into this eventuality (in no particular order):

1) Pick a date for our family “farewell” dinner.

2) Write farewell cards with the kids to tuck into her luggage.

3) Talk about how we can stay in touch in the year ahead.

4) Make sure she knows she is always welcome to come back and visit.

5) Share skype addresses with our new au pair and schedule a skype date for all of them to talk.

6) Put together a photo collage of the year that we can look at together long after she has returned home.

7) Involve her in the welcome of our new au pair so that she feels good about the transition too!

Saying goodbye is never easy but doing these things helps all of us to talk about it and celebrate the transition.  Franzi’s departure means she is moving on to the next chapter of her life and will begin university.  We look forward to hearing all about it and sharing the latest family updates.

Share

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Activities for kids, Cultural Exchange Experiences, Education, Kid advice, Parenting Advice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saying goodbye is never easy!

  1. And hopefully you’ll still be in touch 25 years later as I am with my first family :)))

    • samontherun says:

      We have been fortunate to stay in touch with just about everyone over the years! Our very first au pair will return this summer for a week long visit. Can’t wait to catch up and see how she has grown up and changed over the past 8 years.

  2. Emelie says:

    I still remember how hard I cryied when I read your letter Sam. Miss you all!

Leave a Reply

