A Very Happy birthday!

Yesterday was my birthday.  39.  I remember being in college and thinking someone that age was OLD.  When it is you staring down that number it doesn’t seem old at all.  I love how the mind works with you!  Because in reality, I feel more like a 29 year old with the trappings of someone more established and fortunate – good health, loving family, professional and personal passions, yadda yadda.  But birthdays always cause me to reflect on life and take inventory on all that I hope to accomplish.

But I’m putting all that aside to say it was one of the best birthdays ever!  My dear husband, au pair, and children were all in on it and I was none the wiser.  They managed to pull off a big surprise dinner party complete with family and friends from all aspects of my life.  Three of my college roommates made the trek to be there and seeing them just brought me back to those college and early 20’s days.  It also reminded me of our cocktail napkin pledge and I asked them if they remembered it.  They didn’t!  So I find myself in a curious place having existential thoughts – if none of them remember the incident that was very profound to me, did it really happen?

Well, I can’t produce their napkins but I remember the conversation like it was yesterday.  Forget me remembering something on the grocery list or a family member’s birthday but for whatever reason this moment in time stuck with me and I feel compelled to continue on the journey to fulfill it.

Two of the three thought I was crazy for wanting to do a marathon in the first place but the third said she would do the Boston with me and my dear husband next year. YES.  And then another wonderful thing happened.  One of their husbands offered to help me secure a number for the race.  Is this divine intervention?  I do not know…but for now I will continue to be samontherun working on building up my mileage to bring this dream into reality.

Today I ran 5.33 miles after two days of birthday celebrations.  I survived!  That’s all I can really say about that!  And, that tomorrow is a new day.  At 39, two days of celebrating is hard on anyone but especially for someone of my advanced age.  ; )

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Very Happy birthday!

  1. nancy mullally says:

    Wait – Sam – did I just read that you are committing to run Boston next year? You GO girl!

  2. Nicole Grazado says:

    Sam, So glad you had a great weekend and a great run. I didn’t quite get the mileage you did, but hoping we can join up again next weekend. Sorry to be missing out on the commute.

    • samontherun says:

      It didn’t feel great doing the run but there is nothing like having to get back to the YMCA before a birthday party ends to spur me to run faster. Let’s pick back up running after the holiday weekend. I’m planning on meeting up with book club on Monday night – see you there? It was great fun commuting together – we’ll have to pick up the discussions on the runs.

Leave a Reply

