Hello world!

Getting in a quick sprint in Philadelphia

Hello world!  When I asked someone the best way to introduce myself into the blogosphere I was told there is no official introduction – just go for it!  So, ready or not, here I come!

You might be wondering what compelled me to start a blog.  For me, the blog is about a personal journey that I plan to chronicle over the next year.  The impetus really started ten years ago, right around my birthday.  My college room mates were eating dinner and trying to imagine what life would look like in 10 years.  It seemed so far away so we set our minds adrift and put pen to cocktail napkin with our top 5 aspirations we hoped to accomplish by 40.  Here were mine – I just came across the napkin: loving marriage, 2 healthy kids, still appreciate good friends and work to stay in touch, achieve professional accomplishments, and run a marathon.

Two months ago I was reminded of one of those aspirations – to run a marathon.  The story that follows is the proverbial incident that got the ball rolling and the beginning of my quest.

My dear friend asked me to join her triathlon team to help raise money for a rare disease called Duchenne muscular dystrophy. I loved the idea of helping to raise money for this important cause but I must admit that wasn’t my first reaction.  Panic was!  The dialogue inside my head was more along the lines of – is she crazy?  I can’t run even 3 miles let alone run, bike and swim.  A normal person would have been flattered and say thank you and get to it!  But I panicked!  I actually had a visceral response.  Full on sweat attack!

I immediately came up with a list of reason why I couldn’t do it that I told myself.  (Got to love those limiting beliefs!) I am out of shape.  I will die.  I don’t like cold water.  I sink like a stone in a pool on a good day.  The list could go on….. So I did what any normal person would do in my circumstance – I ignored the email.  Dog ate it!  Didn’t get it! I have no idea what you are talking about!

Two weeks went by and it kept eating at me.  Not upset with my friend anymore – actually with myself for having such a ridiculous reaction (yes sanity did return). I realized that this request had really struck a nerve.

Before I knew what happened, I was looking into fitness classes. I was reflecting on my priorities. Fitness last would need to become fitness first…or somewhere closer to the top of the weekly priority list.  I found a boot camp class that meets at 5:45am three days a week.  No excuse to not be able to make it unless my dear husband is traveling.  Kids are still asleep as are most people it turns out at that hour!  So it could be one glorious hour focused on getting healthier.

So, I now owe a debt of gratitude to my friend Susan for inspiring me to begin a journey to get healthier and back in shape and helping me get that ball rolling to achieve another life goal. Her innocent email propelled me to join the local YMCA boot camp class, sign up for the Diva 1/2 marathon http://www.runlikeadiva.com/Divas_Half_Marathon.htm, and verbally commit to fulfilling my goal of running a full marathon in the next year.

It’s not clear yet if I am running towards a goal or running away from it – but one thing is clear…I am Sam on the Run and this is my blog chronicling my journey as a daughter, sister, wife, parent, host parent, working mom, friend, runner, possible triathlete, sailor and blogger over the next year!

About samanthajanney

My name is Sam and I am a working mom who lives life on the run. Whether it is work related (I travel for business a lot), child related (two active school aged children with plenty of after school interests), au pair related (host mom to our 11th au pair), husband related (married for 11 years), sister, friend etc, there isn’t a moment that I don’t find myself running around trying to do it all. Some weeks are more successful than others (sorry friends and family if you have been on the receiving end of a bad week) but I believe in the 80%-20% rule! 80% of our lives are full of the good stuff, but it's the 20% of life's challenges that make me interesting because I'm the conflict resolution artist. Join me on the journey of self discovery, problem solving and attempts to get it right more often than not!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Nicole Grazado says:

    Wow!

    So impressed and inspired…look out, here I come too.
    Working on a catchy title.

  3. Allison says:

    The action picture you choose for this post was phenominal!

Leave a comment